Why?….Why?….But…..WHY?

He,He.  This one’s a bit of fun.

It’s all new to me, so I hope I do it right.  I’m still learning what these blogging and internet terms all mean.  I’ve been tagged by the lovely Claire at A Boy With Aspergers in a meme called ‘Why?’ which was started by MummyCentral.  Now you may all know what a meme is, but I had to look it up!  As far as I can tell it’s basically a theme that people post about and link their posts back to a host.  (hope I’ve got that vaguely right).

Anyway the idea of Why???? is to turn the tables on the children and all the questions they ask.  Examples of which, in our case, include:

M. Why can’t I stay up till midnight?

M. Why can’t I have 4 friends for a sleepover tonight?

B. Why can’t I have a snake?

B. Why can’t I go to Mercedes-Benz World at the weekend?

So, while I have the chance these are some of the questions I would ask my little people:

Why do you howl as though I am torturing you when I brush your hair? (M)

Why do I frequently feel like I’m talking to the walls? (both)

Why do you think it is alright to change all the settings on my computer when I let you use it? (B)

Why are you so good at making chocolate cakes and brownies and at eating them, but struggle with the concept of washing up? (B)

Why, when none of us in this house can see to drive, don’t own a car and are never likely to own a car, do you think I want to hear about the make, model, technical specification and age of EVERY SINGLE car we walk past on the way to school? (B)

Why have you not learned that the washing basket is on the landing and NOT under the computer or under the bed? (B)

Why have you not learned that if you have only worn an item of clothing for 2 hours after school it doesn’t necessarily need to go in the wash?  (M)

Why can’t you go out into the garden and bounce on the trampoline rather than the beds and the sofas?  (B)

Why can’t you do your music practice and homework without us all having a big row about it first?  – You know you’ll have to do it anyway and the row just adds to the time and stress!  (Both)

Why do you think it is OK and polite for everyone else to share their sweets and chocolate with you, but for you to eat all yours yourself without sharing any?  (M)

Why don’t you like going for a nice walk in the fresh air?  (M)

Why,do you think watching Tracey Beaker on the computer is more important than tidying your bedroom (M)

Why, when one of you does something to annoy the other don’t you walk away and ignore said deed? and

Why, oh why, does whichever of you has been wronged on any particular occasion retaliate, so escalating said situation? and so on…..and so on…. until it becomes a major battle?

And finally,

Why can’t you tell me when you.re upset, worried or anxious about something, rather than getting angry with us (B) and

Why can’t you believe everyone when they tell you you are a beautiful, clever girl who could do so much more than lazing about in PJs? (M)

So those are (some of) mine.

Now to tag some parents/bloggers to play the “Why?” game!

But first the rules…

1. Post your whys – as few or as many as you like

2. Link up your post here, and it would be great if you could leave a comment too

3. Tag 5 bloggers to keep this going

4. If you’re not a blogger, leave your whys as a comment below. I’d love to read them

5. Show your support by reading a few others and commenting on them.

So, to quote my children ‘You are It’.

@MumforAutism at Aspie In The Family

@RebeccaMitche11 at Loving Martians

@CrystalJigsaw at Crystal Jigsaws

@Cheetahsinshoes at Cheetahs In My Shoes

Just in case you think I can’t count.  I know I’m one short on the tagging front, but I’m finishing this post after a day of cheering and flag waving in Central London, and have simply run out of inspiration and ideas.

So time for a G & T and a curry for me and may be in a day or two I will write about our Jubilations.  I might even manage some pics, which would be a first!!!

Thanks for reading and have fun with your ‘Whys’

About Violets Diary

Visually impaired Mum, with VI hubby, 2 disabled children. Disability campaigner, novice blogger and tweeter. Trying to put the world to rights and share our journey and positive stories. https://violetsdiary.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Aspergers, family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why?….Why?….But…..WHY?

  1. “Why can’t you do your music practice and homework without us all having a big row about it first? – You know you’ll have to do it anyway and the row just adds to the time and stress! (Both)” <<that x a million!!! what is wrong with them? arghhh!!!

    • Indeed, if we made a fuss like that every time we have to cook the dinner or put the washing on etc. life would be interesting to say the least…..
      Thanks for dropping by and commenting x

  2. clairelouise82 says:

    Lol u did it perfectly and very funny indeed.xxx

  3. Just popping over to say hi after joining in the meme. Great questions btw!

  4. Love the beds and sofas one, I have the same question of mine!

Leave a Reply

