From Violetsdiary – A message to my Son if he ever says ‘I Wish I didn’t Have Aspergers’ #autismpositivity2012

What I Would Say To B if he ever says to me ‘I Wish I didn’t have aspergers’
Why do you wish you didn’t have aspergers? aspergers is part of you. It is part of what makes you You. you may think differently and see the world differently, but everyone is different. Everyone, even those who don’t have aspergers or autistic spectrum disorders, sees the world slightly differently and thinks in different ways about different things. We all have different thoughts and opinions, We all have different values and beliefs. We are all better at some things than others. If we were all the same the world would be a boring place.

Many people in the world celebrate and value difference. Look around at the links on this site and links on those sites. You will find so many people, with so much to offer. Many of these people have aspergers and have found ways of achieving their goals and sharing the stories of others.

You have skills, make the most of the things you like and talk to people who want to try to understand how you see the world. It will not always be possible for them to exactly understand how you see and feel things. But is is never possible for one person to exactly understand how another feels, even if we don’t have aspergers. The important thing to remember is that there are many people who want to try.

It is true that there are also many people who do not understand and may not want to try to understand. This can be hard and can be frustrating, but believe in yourself talk to the people who do understand. If you can’t talk to me or somone in person use the links on this site, search on twitter and other social networks. There are many on-line discussion groups and blogs out there where people share their positive experiences and coping strategies.

Remember, we are all different. Difference is something to be celebrated and valued. Please try not to listen to the people who don’t understand and take support from the many who do.

And remember, this advice comes from me. I have always been visually impaired, but because of the life I have led and the positive values and beliefs of those around me I have NEVER wished that I wasn’t visually impaired. There may be difficulties and challenges sometimes and I may have wished that I could do things like drive, but these wishes have always been related to solving practical problems, to which there has nearly always been an alternative answer. Being visually impaired is part of me.

What I am trying to say is that we all sometimes wish we could do things differently or that things were easier, but usually we can find ways round this and every person will have some of these feelings. They will just be about different things. try and share your frustrations and anxieties with others.

I hope this helps you to think about your aspergers and to recognise and value it as part what makes you You.

If you didn’t have aspergers you wouldn’t be you and you are the boy we love.

Love from Mummy xoxoxo

About Violets Diary

Visually impaired Mum, with VI hubby, 2 disabled children. Disability campaigner, novice blogger and tweeter. Trying to put the world to rights and share our journey and positive stories. https://violetsdiary.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Aspergers, family, Uncategorized, visual impairment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Violetsdiary – A message to my Son if he ever says ‘I Wish I didn’t Have Aspergers’ #autismpositivity2012

  1. Pingback: From Violetsdiary – A message to my Son if he ever says ‘I Wish I didn’t Have Aspergers’ #autismpositivity2012 | Autism Positivity Day Flash Blog

Leave a Reply

