Should I or Shouldn’t I?

I have had some interesting discussions with some little people over the last couple of days about the reasons for writing this blog and how we share information.

It boils down to the fact that they are not entirely happy with me sharing our experiences with the world. We talked about the reason for doing it. ie to show other people that we live a positive life and hopefully to share with others that it is possible to live fulfilled lives and that, while we may need support and understanding some of the time, we certainly don’t need pity and charity.

Having discussed this I asked what it was that they didn’t like. It wasn’t possible for this to be expressed in words, but they have some concerns about being identified and possibly embarrassed by my writing.

Although it causes a bit of disappointment for me, because I want to write and share our experiences to generate discussion and raise awareness, it does give me some sense that they are learning to be wise. They are right to raise concerns and to think about how we use the internet and social media and what information we share and how we do it.

And of course, they are also right to question me about my right to share information which relates to them. I think this is a really important point that lots of us who blog out our personal experiences should think about. We have families, friends and networks and we must be careful about what we share and how we do it.

With that in mind, I have decided that before I get too involved with this blog in its current form I will move it to a new form.

As such this is the first post of Violet’s Diary.

Thank you for reading and following this.  I hope I can make Violets Diary something that my wise little people can be proud of.

About Violets Diary

Visually impaired Mum, with VI hubby, 2 disabled children. Disability campaigner, novice blogger and tweeter. Trying to put the world to rights and share our journey and positive stories. https://violetsdiary.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Aspergers, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Should I or Shouldn’t I?

  1. njfield says:

    I have wrestled with this before. I used to keep a blog that was very anonymous and therefore very honest. My latest incarnation is very honest, but very specific allowing me to be less anonymous. In some ways, the things that might embarass us or shame us, are also those things that people need to know. No one is ever alone, really. In my opinion, it is the brave people of the world who share their experiences (anonymously or not) that help me feel better about the journey I am on.
    Thanks.
    Nick
    http://www.1in88.org/

    • thanks for your comment. Yes – that was my idea about sharing, and if it was just my experience it would be fine as it is entirely my decision to make, but many of the things and experiences I want to share relate to and involve others, who may not feel the same as me either now or in the future. That is why we came to the compromise of doing it this way.
      Violet

Leave a Reply

