Sport – The Gallery

When I saw the theme for the Gallery this week is sport my first thought was to post the pictures I took at the Olympic Cycling Time Trials last week, but then I decided I would leave the Olympics to others and I would post these pictures of my husband running

The Winners – Time 19.58.67

Senior Men’s trophy winner

My OH has no sight at all, but it doesn’t stop him doing anything.  I met him 17 years ago on a sailing holiday, we got on so well because we both enjoyed ski-ing and cycling and went on many different activity holidays together before the children were born.

D is an awesome ski-er.  He is fearless and can ski black runs!

He did his first 10K run about 5 years ago and since then he’s been hooked.  He runs regularly at our local 5k park-run and is running his 3rd half marathon in October.

The pictures above were taken at the Metro Athletic Championships in June.  I have written a post about that event here.

He ran a personal best time for 5000m and was over the moon to run it in under 20 minutes.  Not only did he win the race, but he was awarded the trophy for Senior Men for achieving the time.

Sport is something that everyone can take part in if they have the right opportunities.  Never under-estimate what you or someone else may be able to do.

Go over to Sticky fingers and check out some of the other entries to The Gallery.

About Violets Diary

Visually impaired Mum, with VI hubby, 2 disabled children. Disability campaigner, novice blogger and tweeter. Trying to put the world to rights and share our journey and positive stories. http://violetsdiary.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in disability, Uncategorized, visual impairment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sport – The Gallery

  1. that is so inspiring! you have an amazing partner.

    • Thank you. He does it because he loves it. Unfortunately I think there are many people who still assume that disabled people can’t do things. We might not be able to do them in the same way, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t possible and equally valid. Thanks for your comment. :)

  2. notmyyearoff says:

    Wow – that;s really inspirational! I wish I could do half those things.

  3. A wonderful achievement. SO pleased you posted this x.

  4. Herding Cats says:

    You’re husband is such an amazing and inspiring man. You must be very proud.

    • Thanks, we are all proud of his achievements. I think it’s important that people recognise that sport is for everyone, and may mean that sometimes it has to be done in a different way, but anything is possible. Thank you for commenting. :)

  5. solodialogue says:

    Awesome! Great choice of subject. Your husband is inspiring and fearless!

  6. Nikki Thomas says:

    That is incredible! It puts me to shame as I should run and I quite like it but lately I never can quite manage it out of the arm chair.

  7. ginacaro says:

    What an inspiring story, your husband sounds like a very strong man x

  8. What a great story and amazing pictures. x

  9. How incredibly inspiring (sorry, such an overused word but definitely appropriate in this case) :-)

  10. makes me feel quite ashamed that I am just a run of the mill lazy able human being

  11. Brilliant post. So inspiring. (It’s overused because it’s true.)

  12. Pingback: Sport – The Gallery : Love All Blogs

  13. Pingback: The Weekly Showcase 13th August 2012 | Love New Blogs

Leave a Reply

